Steeman strikes first in France, Championship leader Diaz 15th in FP1

Friday, 9 September 2022 08:33 GMT

WorldSSP300 burst back into action at Magny-Cours with Victor Steeman topping the times by three quarters of a second

The FIM Supersport 300 World Championship returned to action at the Circuit de Nevers Magny-Cours for the Pirelli French Round and it was Dutch rider Victor Steeman (MTM Kawasaki) topping the times. Steeman was more seven tenths clear of his rivals in the opening session of the weekend as he laid down a gauntlet for the rest of the weekend in Free Practice 1.

Steeman posted a 1’53.262s in the 30-minute session as he topped the times ahead of German rider Dirk Geiger (Fusport – RT Motorsports by SKM – Kawasaki) in second place, with the German rider leaving it late to post his lap time. Mirko Gennai (Team BrCorse) claimed third spot as he lapped 1.275s slower than Steeman, with three different nationalities in the top three.

Despite a crash at Turn 8 during Free Practice 1, Yuta Okaya (MTM Kawasaki) claimed fourth spot after posting a 1’54.546s, ahead of Matteo Vannucci (AG Motorsport Italia Yamaha) in fifth place and German rider Lennox Lehmann (Freudenberg KTM – Paligo Racing) in sixth place with all three manufacturers inside the top six in FP1.

Kevin Sabatucci (Kawasaki GP Project) took seventh place despite leading the timesheets in the early stages of the session, finishing ahead of Championship contender Marc Garcia (Yamaha MS Racing) in eighth place. Daniel Mogeda (Team#109 Kawasaki) was ninth, 1.627s back from Steeman, while Jose Luis Perez Gonzales (Accolade Smrz Racing) rounded out the top ten despite a crash at Turn 13. Championship leader Alvaro Diaz (Arco Motor University Team) finished in 15th place.

The top six following WorldSSP300 Free Practice 1, full results here:

1. Victor Steeman (MTM Kawasaki) 1’53.262s

2. Dirk Geiger (Fusport – RT Motorsports by SKM – Kawasaki) 0.759s

3. Mirko Gennai (Team BrCorse) +1.275s

4. Yuta Okaya (MTM Kawasaki) +1.284s

5. Matteo Vannucci (AG Motorsport Italia Yamaha) +1.303s

6. Lennox Lehmann (Freudenberg KTM – Paligo Racing) +1.326s

Don’t miss any of the French action using the WorldSBK VideoPass!