STATS ROUND UP: more than 1000 days of waiting and on the verge of history

Wednesday, 13 April 2022 10:44 GMT

What were the headlining statistics after the colossal opening round of the 2022 WorldSBK season?

The 2022 MOTUL FIM Superbike World Championship is well underway and already, there’s been some very impressive numbers after MotorLand Aragon and Round 1 of the season. From long waits for returning to the Championship lead, huge numbers being chalked up and unrivalled parity across the leading three manufacturers, enjoy our stats round-up from the Pirelli Aragon Round!

1022 – Since 23rd June 2019, and 10th April 2022, 1022 days have passed – this is the gap between the last time Alvaro Bautista ( Racing – Ducati) last led the WorldSBK Championship.

820 – Jonathan Rea (Kawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK) gave Great Britain an 820th podium place in Race 1; two more podiums on Sunday put them on 822 and means 825 is within reach at Assen.

355 – Toprak Razgatlioglu (Pata Yamaha with Brixx WorldSBK) gave Yamaha their 355th podium placement.

335 – Aragon Race 1 saw three manufacturers on the podium for the 335th time in WorldSBK. Following Sunday’s races, the tally is now 337. The last nine races have all featured three different manufacturers, stretching back to Portimao Race 2 in 2021.

299 – Great Britain got one victory at MotorLand Aragon courtesy of Jonathan Rea, but Alvaro Bautista’s Sunday double means that the country will have to wait until Assen until it can attempt to take a landmark 300th win in WorldSBK.

175 – Jonathan Rea took his 175th podium for Kawasaki during Race 2.

100 – Race 1 in WorldSBK was Spain’s 100th in the Championship; the 100th of the Championship was also held in Spain, at Jarama for Race 2 in 1992. Both times, a Kawasaki won: the 100th Spanish race won by Jonathan Rea and the 100th WorldSBK race by Rob Phillis (his last win).

95/14 – After 14 years and 361 days, Ducati return to the WorldSSP podium with Nicolo Bulega ( Racing – WorldSSP Team), who became the 95th podium finisher in the class. The last time was in Valencia at the Ricardo Tormo Circuit with Gianluca Nannelli in 2007, who finished third.

56 – Toprak Razgatlioglu took three podiums at the start of a WorldSBK season for the first time in his career. Race 2’s third place was the 56th overall.

55 – Bautista’s win is Spain’s 55th; they are seven behind Japan and a top five placing overall.

28 – Illia Mykhalchyk (BMW Motorrad WorldSBK Team) took eighth place in Race 1, making Ukraine the 28th country to achieve a top ten finish in WorldSBK.

25/24 – Starting Race 1 in WorldSSP300 from 25th and Race 2 from 24th, Lennox Lehmann (Freudenberg KTM – Paligo Racing) is the only rider in WorldSSP300 history to achieve two podiums from outside the top 20, and he did it in consecutive fashion.

21 – Alvaro Diaz (Arco Motor University Team) became the 21st different winner in WorldSSP300.

18 – 18th career win for Alvaro Bautista, who is now level with Toprak Razgatlioglu, with both one clear of Pierfrancesco Chili.

16 – For the first time in over 16 years, two Hondas feature inside the top six in the WorldSBK Championship after the first three races. Iker Lecuona (Team HRC) and fellow rookie teammate Xavi Vierge are fifth and sixth respectively. The last time was after Phillip Island Race 1 in 2006, when James Toseland was second and Alex Barros fourth.

15 – With ninth in Race 2 at Aragon, Garrett Gerloff (GYTR GRT Yamaha WorldSBK Team) has now taken 15 top ten finishes, a personal record for the American.

12 – Luca Bernardi’s (BARNI Spark Racing Team) debut in WorldSBK saw him take 12th, giving San Marino their first points in WorldSBK since Alex De Angelis’ 13th at Laguna Seca in 2017’s Race 2.

10 – Ten top six finishes for Axel Bassani (Motocorsa Racing) in WorldSBK after Race 2 at Aragon, exactly 25% of races started.

10 – Eugene Laverty (Bonovo Action BMW) got his first top ten at the start of the season since Phillip Island Race 1 in 2018, when he was eighth.

8 – For the eighth time in WorldSBK history, the season-opening race was decided by less than a tenth of a second, as 0.090s separated Jonathan Rea and Alvaro Bautista.

1 – For the first time in WorldSBK history, only three riders on the podium in the first three races of the Championship. With Michael Ruben Rinaldi ( Racing – Ducati) fourth in all three races, it’s the first time a rider has three fourth-place finishes from the opening three races of a WorldSBK season.

0.090s – The winning margin between Jonathan Rea and Alvaro Bautista is actually the closest the two have finished in a battle for victory, despite the rivalry in 2019. Their closest finish in 2019 was at Portimao in Race 2, when the gap was 0.111s. Ironically, the 0.111s gap was the combined gap of the opening three races of the 2020 season at Phillip Island, which will host this year’s season finale.

Watch all the action in 2022 with the WorldSBK VideoPass!