Manzi leads Jespersen in mixed-up WorldSSP FP1 in Indonesia, title contenders 13th and 15th

Friday, 11 November 2022 02:06 GMT

With the WorldSSP field taking to the new asphalt for the first time, lap times became quicker as the 45-minute session progressed

The penultimate round of the FIM Supersport World Championship kicked off at the Pertamina Mandalika International Street Circuit as Stefano Manzi (Dynavolt Triumph) topped the times during FP1 for the Pirelli Indonesian Round by more than two tenths of a second. The Italian rider left it late to go fastest in the 45-minute sessions where the best times were set in the closing stages of the session as riders rubbered in the new asphalt.

Manzi posted a best time of 1’42.090s right at the end of the session to top the opening session of the weekend by more than two tenths in what was a mixed-up order at the end of the session. Simon Jespersen (Kallio Racing), replacing Patrick Hobelsberger for the final two rounds of 2022, was second as he also posted his best time towards the end of the session, lapping the 4.3km in 1’42.307s for second spot. Federico Caricasulo (Althea Racing) was third as he put his Ducati inside the top three, with three manufacturers in the top three, after posting a 1’42.347s.

Italian rider Yari Montella (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) took fourth spot, half-a-second off compatriot Manzi’s pace. Montella had led the session with a few minutes to go after setting a 1’42.658s but was bumped down the order as the session concluded. He was ahead of teammate Can Oncu (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) in fifth place, with Oncu also spending time at the top of the timesheets. Hungary’s Peter Sebestyen (Evan Bros. WorldSSP Yamaha Team) completed the top six.

Rookie Adrian Huertas (MTM Kawasaki) was seventh, 1.1s off Manzi’s pace, with three Kawasaki riders inside the top seven in FP1. Jules Cluzel (GMT94 Yamaha) was eighth place despite only leaving the pit lane with 18 minutes left of the session, posting a time of 1’43.236s. Estonian rider Hannes Soomer (Dynavolt Triumph) was ninth with Raffaele De Rosa (Orelac Racing VerdNatura WorldSSP), a winner here last year, completing the top ten.

The two title contenders both finished outside the top ten. Lorenzo Baldassarri (Evan Bros. WorldSSP Yamaha Team) was 13th after setting a 1’44.092s, with Championship leader Dominique Aegerter (Ten Kate Racing Yamaha) in 15th, two tenths slower than Baldassarri. Aegerter had been quick out of the blocks as he topped the times in the early moments but dropped down the order. The two title contenders were separated, in position, by Niki Tuuli (MV Agusta Reparto Corse) as the Finn went 14th.

The top six following WorldSSP FP1, full results here:

1. Stefano Manzi (Dynavolt Triumph) 1’42.090s

2. Simon Jespersen (Kallio Racing) +0.217s

3. Federico Caricasulo (Althea Racing) +0.257s

4. Yari Montella (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) +0.568s

5. Can Oncu (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) +0.872s

6. Peter Sebestyen (Evan Bros. WorldSSP Yamaha Team) +1.131s

Watch the Indonesian Round in style using the WorldSBK VideoPass!