Home-hero Manzi puts Triumph on top in WorldSSP Misano FP1

Friday, 10 June 2022 10:26 GMT

Rookie Stefano Manzi leads the way at home, whilst Championship leader Aegerter is on his tail

The fourth round of the 2022 FIM Supersport World Championship is underway at the Misano World Circuit “Marco Simoncelli” in Italy, with the opening session of the weekend done. FP1 of the Pirelli Emilia-Romagna Round went the way of home-hero Stefano Manzi (Dynavolt Triumph), to put the new Triumph on top of a session for the first time, with the times tumbling right until the end of the session.

Magnificent Manzi flew the Italian flag high at home, with the rookie getting down to business right from the start before vaulting to the top in the final stages of the session. He set back-to-back fastest laps and leads the way at home going into FP2. Dominique Aegerter (Ten Kate Racing Yamaha) was in mighty form at Misano, where he took a double win last year, and was leading for the majority of the session before ultimately finishing second to home-hero Manzi. Can Oncu (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) took third place but had a mechanical problem at the end of the session, whilst fourth and fifth went to Lorenzo Baldassarri (Evan Bros. WorldSSP Yamaha Team) and Federico Caricasulo (Althea Racing), with the Italians going well at home.

Sixth place honours went to Andy Verdoia (GMT94 Yamaha), whilst seventh place belonged to Yari Montella (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing), with the Italian putting in a solid effort in front of his home crowd in FP1. Fresh from a podium at Estoril, Kyle Smith (VFT Racing) took eighth place having been inside the top three at points, whilst it was Raffaele De Rosa (Orelac Racing VerdNatura WorldSSP) who clinched ninth, making it four Italians inside the top nine. The top ten was rounded out by Switzerland’s Marcel Brenner (VFT Racing). There were problems throughout the session for one of the home favourites, as Nicolo Bulega ( Racing WorldSSP Team), which left him at the bottom of the order with just two laps completed, both being out-laps.

Top six after WorldSSP FP1 at Misano, full results here:

1. Stefano Manzi (Dynavolt Triumph) 1’38.082

2. Dominique Aegerter (Ten Kate Racing Yamaha) +0.137s

3. Can Oncu (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) +0.578s

4. Lorenzo Baldassarri (Evan Bros. WorldSSP Yamaha Team) +0.889s

5. Federico Caricasulo (Althea Racing) +0.938s

6. Andy Verdoia (GMT94 Yamaha) 0.983s

Watch the season unfold in style with the WorldSBK VideoPass!