Aegerter blitzes the field as he claims Donington pole, 100th pole for Yamaha in WorldSSP

Saturday, 16 July 2022 10:02 GMT

The reigning Champion was the only rider in the 1’29s bracket as he claimed his fourth consecutive pole position

The Tissot Superpole session for the FIM Supersport World Championship was a dramatic 20-minute session with Dominque Aegerter (Ten Kate Racing Yamaha) claiming his fourth consecutive pole position with a 0.357s margin to his nearest rivals at Donington Park for the Prosecco DOC UK Round. Aegerter was the only rider to lap in the 1’29s in Superpole as he claimed a stunning pole position at the historic Donington Park circuit.

AEGERTER ON POLE: just missing out on a lap record

Aegerter’s time of 1’29.961s was just shy of Kenan Sofuoglu’s lap record at Donington Park but it was still enough to take pole position, the eighth of his career and the 100th pole position for Yamaha in WorldSSP. Aegerter will be joined on the front row by rookie Nicolo Bulega ( Racing WorldSSP Team) and Glenn van Straalen (EAB Racing Team); van Straalen had a crash at Turn 12 in the closing stages of the session. Bulega claimed his fourth front row start in five rounds while van Straalen secured his second front row result in Superpole, with Bulega 0.357s back from Aegerter and van Straalen 0.413s back.

THE SECOND ROW: a close second row

Can Oncu (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) put in a late lap to move up the order to claim fourth spot on the grid, 0.484s away from Aegerter, with Federico Caricasulo (Althea Racing) and 2019 Donington race winner Jules Cluzel (GMT94 Yamaha) in sixth place on the grid for both Race 1 and Race 2. The three riders on the second row were separated by around one tenth of a second.

ROUNDING OUT THE TOP TEN: hoping to gain places in the race

Rookie Lorenzo Baldassarri (Evan Bros. WorldSSP Yamaha Team) will start seventh for his first race at Donington Park and will be hoping he can fight his way through the field to fight for a podium. He will be joined on the third row by fellow Italian rider Yari Montella (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) in eighth and Hannes Soomer (Dynavolt Triumph) in ninth. Marcel Brenner (VFT Racing) rounded out the top ten as he lapped 0.882s slower than Aegerter.

TO NOTE: housekeeping from Superpole

After showing strong pace in Friday’s Free Practice sessions, Raffaele De Rosa (Orelac Racing VerdNatura WorldSSP) will start from 11th place, while Bahattin Sofuoglu (MV Agusta Reparto Corse) claimed his best result in Superpole with 13th; the first time he will start in the first five rows. Home here Tom Booth-Amos (Prodina Racing WorldSSP) was 17th on his return from injury despite a late-session crash at Turn 11.

The top six following WorldSSP Superpole, full results here:

1. Dominique Aegerter (Ten Kate Racing Yamaha) 1’29.961s

2. Nicolo Bulega ( Racing WorldSSP Team) +0.357s

3. Glenn van Straalen (EAB Racing Team) +0.413s

4. Can Oncu (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) +0.484s

5. Federico Caricasulo (Althea Racing) +0.542s

6. Jules Cluzel (GMT94 Yamaha) +0.571s

Watch WorldSSP Race 1 and UNINTERRUPTED from 15:15 Local Time (GMT+1) using the WorldSBK VideoPass!