WorldSSP300 by numbers: the 2021 season sees stars emerge and write records

Thursday, 30 December 2021 07:51 GMT

A season of stats in review, who wrote the numerical headlines the most in 2021?

The 2021 FIM Supersport 300 World Championship was a memorable season, full of excitement from start to finish. From a first-time Champion to countries emerging and established stars struggling to get a look-in, there were plenty of records throughout. Glance back on the 2021 WorldSSP300 season, and get all the information you need in terms of numbers and nuances.

255 – Adrian Huertas (MTM Kawasaki) became Champion in 2021 with 255 points, a new record for points scored in the class by the end of the season.

206 – The number of racing laps completed in 2021 in WorldSSP300, a record for the class.

150 – The top three in the Championship, for the first time in WorldSBK history, scored more than 150 points, with Huertas on 255, Tom Booth-Amos (Fusport – RT Motorsports by SKM – Kawasaki) on 189 and Jeffrey Buis (MTM Kawasaki) on 174.

37 – Portimao Race 1 saw Ana Carraco (Kawasaki Provec WorldSSP300) take a 37th point-scoring finish, the most even in the class, five more than nearest competitors Scott Deroue and Koen Meuffels (MTM Kawasaki).

20 – Samuel Di Sora (Leader Team Flemmbo) became the 20th different race winner in the class’ history in Race 1 at Portimao. Victor Steeman (Freudenberg KTM WorldSSP Team) became the 19th at Most in Race 1, both becoming winners for the first time this season.

13 – Oliver König’s (Movisio by MIE) podium at home in the Czech Republic meant the country was the 13th to achieve a podium in WorldSSP300.

12/11 – Dirk Geiger (Fusport – RT Motorsports by SKM – Kawasaki) set the fastest lap of Race 1 at Portimao, making Germany the 12th country to set a fastest lap in the class’ history. Uruguayan rider Facundo Llambias (Machado Came SBK) set Uruguay’s first ever fastest lap within the WorldSBK paddock at Jerez in Race 2, the only other South American country to do it in the class after Brazil.

9 – Di Sora’s win meant he was the first for France, making it the ninth country on the winning list.

7 – Seven different winners in the 2021 WorldSSP300 season: Adrian Huertas, Tom Booth-Amos (Fusport – RT Motorsports by SKM – Kawasaki), Ana Carrasco (Kawasaki Provec WorldSSP300), Victor Steeman, Jeffrey Buis (MTM Kawasaki), Bahattin Sofuoglu (Biblion Yamaha Motoxracing) and Samuel Di Sora.

6 – Huertas’ six wins mean that he has the record for most wins in a single season of WorldSSP300.

5 – From five seasons of World Supersport 300, there’s been five different Champions.

4 – Adrian Huertas became the fourth Champion from Spain in the class.

0.003s – The closest finish ever seen in any World Championship within the WorldSBK paddock between Bahattin Sofuoglu (and Alvaro Diaz (Acro-Motor University Team)

Get the build-up to 2022 with the WorldSBK VideoPass!