WorldSSP in numbers: a 2021 season with history made

Friday, 24 December 2021 07:51 GMT

New winners, historic landmarks and more – World Supersport delivered the goods in 2021

The 2021 FIM Supersport World Championship season was a relentless battle for supremacy, which saw record after record broken. A season of new stars, rookie revelations and lap record pace saw the pre-existing stats shattered. Find out all the details with stats summary from World Supersport, with everything from points tallies to history-making top ten finishes.

417 – Dominique Aegerter (Ten Kate Racing Yamaha) won the title with a record 417 points, more than any other Champion in World Supersport.

53 – After 53 races without a podium, Turkey took a WorldSSP rostrum, this time with Can Öncü (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) at Magny-Cours in Race 2.

45 – Oldest rider to score points in WorldSSP history: Pawel Szkopek 15th in Race 2 at Aragon. New record for oldest rider in the points: 45 years 9 months 17 days for Szkopek today. Beats Cristiano Migliorati, 42 years 1 day in Imola 2010.

16 – New World Supersport Champion Dominique Aegerter took 16 podiums in his rookie season, an all-new record of podiums in one season in WorldSSP.

12 – 12 different riders led a race across the finish line at the end of a racing lap in 2021, a joint-record with the 2001, 2016 and 2017 seasons.

11 – The top eleven riders in the final standings all scored at least two podiums in the 2021 season.

10 – Ten wins on the way to the title, Aegerter gave the Ten Kate Racing team their tenth World Supersport crown, their first with Yamaha.

10 – For the first time in World Supersport history, the top ten on the grid at MotorLand Aragon were all from different nationalities. 

7 – Seven different pole-sitters in World Supersport throughout 2021, the same number as in 2019 and 2017. 

4 – Four new winners in WorldSSP in 2021: Steven Odendaal (Evan Bros. Yamaha WorldSSP Team), Dominique Aegerter (Ten Kate Racing Yamaha), Manuel Gonzalez (Yamaha ParkinGO Team) and Raffaele De Rosa (Orelac Racing VerdNatura). The first three were the only race winners in the first eighth rounds.

1 – Race 2 at Estoril welcomed a new nationality to the podium in World Supersport, with Luca Bernardi putting San Marino second, thus becoming the fourth-youngest rider to get on the podium.

1 – Kawasaki’s only win in the class in 2021 came as a first ever win for Raffaele De Rosa, as well as a first win for the Orelac Racing VerdNatura team, in the first ever World Championship race to take place at the Pertamina Mandalika International Street Circuit.

Watch the season in full in 2022 with the WorldSBK VideoPass!