The WorldSSP rookies who came and conquered the Championship

Monday, 18 October 2021 06:16 GMT

Aegerter’s title success means he joins an exclusive list of riders who won the Championship in their rookie years

With the FIM Supersport World Championship title being decided during the Motul Argentinean Round at the Circuito San Juan Villicum, Dominique Aegerter (Ten Kate Racing Yamaha) joined a list of stars who have gone on to have success in MotoGP™ and the MOTUL FIM Superbike World Championship after winning the title in their rookie WorldSSP season.

MotoGP™ star and three-time race winner Cal Crutchlow claimed the title in his only full-time WorldSSP campaign in 2009. After three one-off appearances in 2005 and 2006, Crutchlow called WorldSSP his home in 2009 and duly delivered the title on Yamaha machinery with five wins from 14 races and ten podiums, beating the likes of Eugene Laverty and Kenan Sofuoglu in his rookie campaign. Following on from that, Crutchlow went on to win three races in WorldSBK in 2010 before switching to MotoGP™ where he won three races and stood on the rostrum on 19 occasions.

German rider Sandro Cortese made his WorldSSP debut in 2018, also on Yamaha machinery, after winning the 2012 Moto3™ World Championship and five seasons competing in Moto2™, where he claimed three podiums. Following his switch to WorldSSP, Cortese picked up two wins and nine podiums out of 12 races as he became the second rider to win the Championship in his rookie campaign as he finished ahead of French duo Lucas Mahias and Jules Cluzel, and 2019’s top two, Randy Krummenacher and Federico Caricasulo.

Now a podium finisher in WorldSBK, Andrea Locatelli (Pata Yamaha with Brixx WorldSBK) followed Cortese’s path over from Moto2™ to WorldSSP for the 2020 campaign, a season like no other for a multitude of reasons. With the exception of the season-opening Australian Round, every round featured two WorldSSP races for a total of 15 races. Locatelli would go on to win 12 of these with a total of 13 podiums. It was a record-breaking campaign for the rookie after he joined the team that took Krummenacher to the title in 2019 before a move straight into the Pata Yamaha factory outfit for his rookie WorldSBK, where he would go on to be a regular podium contender in his rookie season.

Like Cortese and Locatelli, Aegerter moved across from Moto2™ for the 2021 WorldSSP campaign after spending a decade in Moto2™. Aegerter claimed a best Championship position of fifth in Moto2™ after picking up seven podiums and one win before a MotoE™ World Cup campaign in 2020 and 2021; dovetailing the latter with WorldSSP. Despite missing one round due to a clash, Aegerter claimed the title in his rookie campaign with three races to spare including stats that could match Locatelli’s rookie campaign: ten wins from 21 races, a winning streak of five races only bettered by Locatelli (nine in his title-winning campaign), and 13 podiums. He also secured second in the MotoE™ World Cup after an intense campaign for the Swiss rider as he became the second rider from Switzerland to take the title, and the fourth rider on Yamaha machinery to win the title in his rookie campaign.

Congratulate Aegerter on his title success using the hashtag #DomiFighter on social media!

Watch some incredible fights from Aegerter’s title-winning campaign using the WorldSBK VideoPass!