STATS ROUND-UP: what do the numbers say after WorldSBK at Jerez?

Tuesday, 28 September 2021 07:55 GMT

Statistical horizons and numerical milestones – the Motul Spanish Round saw plenty of big numbers reached

The 2021 MOTUL FIM Superbike World Championship has seen the Championship lead extended to 20 points for Toprak Razgatlioglu (Pata Yamaha with Brixx WorldSBK), as he continues to take hold at the top of the standings. However, there were plenty of other big numbers reached for WorldSBK stars at the Circuito de Jerez – Angel Nieto, with manufacturers hitting big milestones, riders revelling in new records and plenty more.

805 – The 805th podium placing for Great Britain in WorldSBK.

395 – Honda took a 395th podium place at Jerez in Race 2, courtesy of Alvaro Bautista (Team HRC).

345 – In Race 1 at Jerez, Yamaha took their 345th podium place; Razgatlioglu winning Race 2 saw them move onto 346.

299 – Yamaha’s 299th race on the podium in WorldSBK; they have featured on all but three podiums this year (Aragon Race 2, Donington Park Tissot Superpole Race and Catalunya Race 1).

215 – With Alex Lowes (Kawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK) and teammate Jonathan Rea on the front row at Jerez, it was the 215th Superpole session where Kawasaki have featured on the front row.

160/22 – Taking pole meant Yamaha featured on the 160th front row in their history in WorldSBK; Jerez is the 22nd circuit in which they have achieved a pole.

48/24 – Toprak Razgatlioglu has taken 24 of his 48 podiums in WorldSBK in 2021, exactly 50% of his career. His next podium will be his 49th, equal with Carlos Checa.

40/33 – Toprak Razgatlioglu took his first pole of the year, his second of his career but Yamaha’s 40th in WorldSBK. The first pole was achieved by Mick Doohan at Oran Park in 1988 on the 24th September 1988, with Yamaha starting a race from a first pole a day later (exactly 33 years before Razgatlioglu gave Yamaha their 40th).

30 – Scott Redding took his 30th podium in WorldSBK Race 2 at Jerez, putting him level with Giancarlo Falappa. His next target will be the 35 achieved by Eugene Laverty.

20 – The Championship lead is at 20 points for Toprak, the most he’s ever had in WorldSBK; it’s almost the biggest Championship lead since Jonathan Rea led by 37 points after Assen Race 2.

17 – In WorldSSP300, Inigo Iglesias (SMW Racing) became the 17th different podium finisher in 2021 in Race 1.

15 – Toprak Razgatlioglu’s win is the 15th of his career and thus the 15th for Turkey in WorldSBK.

13 – The pole position for Turkey meant they are the 13th country to achieve more than one pole in WorldSBK, leaving Portugal and the Netherlands at one (Alex Vieira for Portugal at the Hockenheimring in 1988 and Michael van der Mark at the Chang International Circuit in 2016 for the Netherlands).

12 – 12th podium shared by Razgatlioglu/Rea/Redding, the same as Corser/Fogarty/Slight and Bayliss/Edwards/Xaus.

10 – Dominique Aegerter (Ten Kate Racing Yamaha) took his tenth win of the WorldSSP season, the third rider to win ten races in one season. The others are Kenan Sofuoglu and Andrea Locatelli.

8 – Toprak Razgatlioglu has now won at eight different circuits in WorldSBK, with five of the tracks seeing Razgatlioglu win more than once.

6 – For the first time since Laguna Seca, Brno and Donington Park 2018, six factory bikes locked out the front two rows in Superpole in three consecutive rounds.

2 – For the first time since Portimao in 2020, the Kawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK had both of their riders on the front row after Superpole.

2 – Yamaha took a second win at Jerez, their first one came at Jerez in 2019 with Michael van der Mark in Race 2, 2019.

2 – Niki Tuuli (MV Agusta Corse Clienti) took a second consecutive podium, the first time a Finnish rider has done this since Tuuli himself back in 2016, when he managed three consecutive second places at the Euro Speedway Lausitz, Jerez and Magny-Cours. That was on a Yamaha, this time, he’s done it on an MV Agusta.

1 – In WorldSSP300, a new country came to the fore as Facundo Llambias (Machado CAME SBK) took Uruguay to a first ever point-scoring finish with a respectable ninth place in Race 2, whilst also setting the first ever fastest lap for the country too. He was 19th on the grid and finished less than a second behind second-placed Inigo Iglesias (SMW Racing).

Watch the remainder of the WorldSBK season in 2021 with the WorldSBK VideoPass!