STATS ROUND-UP: the Navarra numbers that hit the headlines with magic milestones

Wednesday, 25 August 2021 08:37 GMT

Unprecedented hit-rates and levelling with legends, the WorldSBK class of 2021 continues to write history…

The 2021 MOTUL FIM Superbike World Championship is quickly becoming one of the greatest yet, as new records are being set and the race for the title is closer than ever before. For the first time in the Championship’s illustrious history, it’s all-square at the top after 21 races, with Toprak Razgatlioglu (Pata Yamaha with Brixx WorldSBK) and Jonathan Rea (Kawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK) on 311 points each. However, there were plenty of milestones elsewhere on the grid and beyond.

8000 – After Lap 3 of Race 1, Jonathan Rea was leading, meaning he has now led in excess of 8000 kilometres in WorldSBK. He has led approximately 8013km, taking into account he has led the full-lap. Data for this statistic is available from 1998.

360/290 – Race 1 at Navarra saw some podium milestones for the manufacturers: Kawasaki stood on a 360th podium whilst Yamaha stood on a 290th. They ended the weekend on 362 and 292 respectively.

311/21 – For the first time in WorldSBK history, the top two in the Championship are level on points after 21 races. It’s only the fifth time in history that the WorldSBK Championship has been level on points at the top, and it has never previously happened after the seventh race of the season.

290 – Scott Redding ( Racing – Ducati) gave Great Britain a 290th WorldSBK win in Race 1 at Navarra; his Superpole Race victory leaves the country on 291, a huge 172 ahead of the next-best country: the United States.

115 – Tom Sykes’ (BMW Motorrad WorldSBK Team) fifth place for BMW in Race 2 at Navarra was the 115th top five result for BMW in WorldSBK.

99 – Kawasaki took a 99th pole in WorldSBK courtesy of Jonathan Rea on Saturday morning. The first one came on the 10th June, 1990 ahead of WorldSBK’s 50th race. It was held at Brainerd in the USA and achieved by American wildcard Doug Chandler, who would take his first podium in Race 1 and his first win in Race 2. The round also saw another Kawasaki legend on the front row for the first time in Scott Russell who was fourth – he was the first Champion for Kawasaki in 1993.

65 ­– Like his old race number, Jonathan Rea has now achieved 65 second-places in WorldSBK, following on from the Tissot Superpole Race at Navarra.

41 – Toprak Razgatlioglu’s Race 2 win saw him take a 41st podium of his WorldSBK career, now level with Neil Hodgson’s podium tally in the 20th position overall. Whilst equalling one World Champion, the podium surpasses another, with 1991 and 1992 WorldSBK Champion Doug Polen on 40

34 – Rea and Razgatlioglu have stood on 34 podiums together, one more than the number of times Carl Fogarty and Troy Corser shared a podium. The next number will be 41, the times Chaz Davies and Tom Sykes shared a podium.

30 – Scott Redding’s Tissot Superpole Race win at Navarra was his tenth win of his career (the second in a Tissot Superpole Race), meaning he became the 30th rider in World Superbike history to achieve ten wins or more.

21 – On a trivial note, all of the races in 2021 have been won by a rider whose surname begins with ‘R’.

17 – With Race 2’s win, Toprak Razgatlioglu equals the all-time record for podiums achieved by a single Yamaha rider in a single season: 17, previously set by Ben Spies in 2009. It took Spies 27 races to do this, it’s taken Razgatlioglu 21.

11 – 11 wins for Razgatlioglu means he is now level in the win tally charts with Stephane Mertens, Regis Laconi and Ruben Xaus in the 24th position of all-time.

10/3 – For the third time in WorldSBK, Yamaha achieve ten consecutive podiums: the first time was from Le Mans Race 2 in 1990 to Donington Park 1991 Race 1, and the second was from Catalunya Race 1 2020 to Aragon’s Superpole Race in 2021.

10 – Razgatlioglu, Redding and Rea were on the podium together for a tenth time in Race 2 at Navarra.

7 – Scott Redding’s Race 2 second place was the seventh consecutive podium in 2021, a person record for him. It was also his 25th, meaning he is level with Alvaro Bautista, who he will be ironically replaced by at Ducati in 2022.

7 – Jonathan Rea took a seventh consecutive pole position of 2021, maintaining his 100% Superpole record. He becomes just the second rider to achieve seven consecutive poles in WorldSBK after Ben Spies achieved this in 2009 – the year Jonathan Rea was a rookie in WorldSBK. At Magny-Cours, a circuit Rea has been on pole at three times for Kawasaki, he could set a new all-time record with eight.

5X4 Andrea Locatelli (Pata Yamaha with Brixx WorldSBK) becomes the first rider in WorldSBK history to achieve five fourth-place finishes.

Watch the entire 2021 WorldSBK season unfold with the WorldSBK VideoPass!