Krummenacher hoping for "long streak of success" following Assen podium

Wednesday, 28 July 2021 06:46 GMT

After returning to the Championship in 2021, Krummenacher got his first podium of the year at the Dutch Round

The return of 2019 FIM Supersport World Championship title winner, Randy Krummenacher (EAB Racing Team), has not been easy for the Swiss rider but the Prosecco DOC Dutch Round has proved to be his strongest round of the 2021 campaign after he was able to return to the rostrum in Race 2 at the TT Circuit Assen.

Although consistently inside the top ten throughout his return to the Championship, having missed most of the 2020 campaign, Krummenacher had been away from the lead group in most races. At the Cathedral of Speed, Krummenacher claimed his best result of the season in Race 1 with fifth before beating that in Race 2 with third. It was almost fourth in Race 1 as he lost out on a drag race to the line with Jules Cluzel (GMT94 Yamaha), while in Race 2 he gained more than three seconds on Philipp Oettl (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) in the closing stages; the gap coming down from four seconds on Lap 12 to just half-a-second at the finish.

Looking back on his first podium since Portimao 2019, Krummenacher said: “I knew it would take time, but I also knew we would get good results. The start of the season was not the easiest, we had to try different solutions, but now the work we have done is finally bearing fruit. It was a good race, I felt strong, especially in the final laps. This podium position is important for me and for the team and I hope it is the beginning of a long streak of success. I would like to thank my team, my family, my sponsors and everyone who supports me. In the next race, which will take place in Most, in the Czech Republic, I will do everything I can to stay in front and achieve the best result.”

Krummenacher’s results have been steadily improving throughout his comeback season, finishing 11th, ninth on three occasions, seventh, fifth and third with one retirement in the eight races so far. The next step up on the podium will be yet another challenge, especially with the imperious pace of Dominique Aegerter (Ten Kate Racing Yamaha), Steven Odendaal (Evan Bros. Yamaha WorldSSP Team) and Philipp Oettl (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) at times this season, but one Krummenacher will grab with both hands as he looks to claim his first victory in WorldSSP in more than two years.

Follow all the action from WorldSSP in 2021 using the WorldSBK VideoPass!