Caricasulo cracks WorldSSP FP1 with new-look top ten at Estoril

Friday, 28 May 2021 11:26 GMT

Plenty of stories up and down the order and a strange crash from one of the front-runners, WorldSSP’s first session of the weekend was hard to read

After a titanic opening round of 2021 FIM Supersport World Championship action at MotorLand Aragon, the weather was far kinder at the Circuito Estoril as Round 2 fired into life. With the sun beating down, conditions were perfect for track action and come the close of the session, it was Federico Caricasulo (GMT94 Yamaha) who was on top, although there’s topsy-turvy complexion to the rest of the top ten.

Putting in a fast lap time in the final five minutes of the session, Caricasulo looked like his old self after a tricky return to the class at Aragon. The Italian, runner-up in 2019, was in fine form as he finished over two tenths faster than Philipp Oettl (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing), whilst also being the only rider to dip into the 1’40s. Oettl went fastest earlier on in the session and was second come the chequered flag, whilst Raffaele De Rosa (Orelac Racing VerdNatura) completed the top three. Championship leader Steven Odendaal (Evan Bros. Yamaha WorldSSP Team) was fourth, marginally ahead of Spaniard Manuel Gonzalez (Yamaha ParkinGO Team).

In sixth place and continuing his revelations, Christoffer Bergman (Wojcik Racing Team) started his Estoril Round weekend off in solid style, pipping 2019 World Champion Randy Krummenacher (EAB Racing Team). Luca Bernardi (CM Racing) put in a late flying lap to go eighth, ahead of Dominique Aegerter (Ten Kate Racing Yamaha) and Can Öncü (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing), as the top ten feature different names to those at Aragon.

Notable outliers from outside the top ten were Hannes Soomer (Kallio Racing) and Jules Cluzel (GMT94 Yamaha) – 11th and 12, respectively – whilst an early Turn 13 crash for Niki Tuuli (MV Agusta Corse Clienti) saw him miss the rest of the session, finishing just 18th. Top WorldSSP Challenge rider was Kevin Manfredi (Altogo Racing).

Top six after FP1 in WorldSSP at Estoril, full results here:

  1. Federico Caricasulo (GMT94 Yamaha) 1’40.982s
  2. Philipp Oettl (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) +0.210s
  3. Raffaele De Rosa (Orelac Racing VerdNatura) +0.233s
  4. Steven Odendaal (Evan Bros. WorldSSP Yamaha Team) +0.340s
  5. Manuel Gonzalez (Yamaha ParkinGo Team) +.0452s
  6. Christoffer Bergman (Wojick Racing Team) +0.453s

Join the conversation of the Estoril Round on social media using the #EstorilWorldSBK, and watch the season unfold chapter-by-chapter with the WorldSBK VideoPass!