Buis to make WorldSSP debut in Argentina

Tuesday, 5 October 2021 14:39 GMT

The 2020 WorldSSP300 Champion will get his first shot in the WorldSSP Championship riding Kawasaki machinery

As the FIM Supersport World Championship heads to Argentina and the Circuito San Juan Villicum, a new face will appear on the WorldSSP grip during the Motul Argentinean Round as 2020 WorldSSP300 Champion Jeffrey Buis makes his debut in the Championship with the G.A.P. MOTOZOO Racing by Puccetti outfit.

Buis joined WorldSSP300 in 2019 and finished 14th in the standings before returning in 2020 and taking the Championship by storm to claim his first World Championship, and the first for a non-Spanish rider. He remained in the class for 2021 as he looked to become the first rider to retain his title, although he saw his crown head over to his MTM Kawasaki teammate, Adrian Huertas.

The 19-year-old has taken part in 39 WorldSSP300 races, claiming seven victories including four in his title-winning campaign, as well as 13 podiums. With the WorldSSP300 concluding in Portimao, Buis will make his WorldSSP debut in Argentina with the G.A.P. MOTOZOO Racing by Puccetti team, taking the place of Michel Fabrizio.

Fabio Uccelli, Motozoo Team Manager, said: “We are very pleased that Jeffrey Buis will race with us in Argentina. Buis is a very fast and young rider, given that he has not yet even turned 20, and has already shown that he is very fast. He made a name for himself last season in Supersport 300, winning the title with four wins and getting on the podium for half of the races. In Argentina, it will certainly not be easy, it will be the first time for us working together and the first time for him racing at this level on a Supersport bike, but we will give our best. We want to finish our first season in the Supersport World Championship on a positive note and it gives our team a very positive vibe for one of the biggest WorldSSP300 talents to make his WorldSSP debut in our team.”

Follow Buis’ WorldSSP debut in style using the WorldSBK VideoPass!