Aegerter blitzes Superpole at Navarra with sensational pole position

Saturday, 21 August 2021 09:09 GMT

Swiss rider Dominique Aegerter claimed his third pole of the season with a stunning lap time at the Circuito de Navarra

The first Tissot Superpole session for the Pirelli Navarra Round for the FIM Supersport World Championship was dominated by Championship leader Dominique Aegerter (Ten Kate Racing Yamaha to claim his third pole position of the 2021 campaign by six tenths of a second ahead of his nearest rivals at the Circuito de Navarra


Swiss rider Aegerter had been quick all weekend and in the Superpole session was once again in the top three, but he put in a scorching final lap in the session to post a 1’39.924s, the only rider to lap under 1’40s across the weekend; the 0.624s margin to Manuel Gonzalez (Yamaha ParkinGo Team) the largest gap to second place since Kyle Smith outqualified Jules Cluzel (GMT94 Yamaha) by 0.810s at Magny-Cours in 2019.

Gonzalez will start from second place after he set the pace after Friday’s running, with Aegerter able to overhaul Gonzalez in Saturday’s morning Superpole session, with South African rider Steven Odendaal (Evan Bros. WorldSSP Yamaha Team) joining Gonzalez and Aegerter on the front row, making it the second Yamaha front row lockout of the season.


Cluzel will start from fourth place with less than a tenth separating Gonzalez, Odendaal and the French rider between second and fourth, showing how competitive the Championship is at the Circuito de Navarra. Sammarinese rider Luca Bernardi (CM Racing) will line up in fifth place for both Race 1 and Race with a lap time of 1’40.712s, just a tenth away from Cluzel. Federico Caricasulo (Biblion Iberica Yamaha Motoxracing) will complete the second row with sixth after a strong weekend for the Italian rider.

Philipp Oettl (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) will lead the third row with seventh place, following by two substitute riders who normally compete in the Spanish championship. Simon Jespersen (Kallio Racing) had a strong Friday and backed that up with eighth place on the grid while Borja Gomez (Yamaha MS Racing) will start from ninth. Between Gomez in ninth and Gonzalez in second, only six tenths separated the eight riders. Finnish rider Niki Tuuli (MV Agusta Corse Clienti) completes the top ten, only 0.018s away from Borja.


Randy Krummenacher (EAB Racing Team) missed out on a spot in the top ten by just 0.031s and will start from 11th, with Raffaele De Rosa (Orelac Racing VerdNatura) in 12th; just 0.015s between Krummenacher and De Rosa. David Sanchis Martinez (WRP Wepol Racing) will start from 13th, ahead of Marcel Brenner (VFT Racing) and Hikari Okubo (G.A.P MOTOZOO Racing by Puccetti) who rounded out the top 15; Okubo did have a crash at Turn 12 in the early stages of the session.


Eduardo Montero Huerta (DK Motorsport) brought out yellow flags with a crash at Turn 7 with the Spanish ridder qualifying in 30th place. Montero Huerta was taken to the medical centre for a check-up following the crash.

The top six following WorldSSP Superpole, full results here:

1. Dominique Aegerter (Ten Kate Racing Yamaha) 1’39.924

2. Manuel Gonzalez (Yamaha ParkinGO Team) +0.624

3. Steven Odendaal (Evan Bros. WorldSSP Yamaha Team) +0.657s

4. Jules Cluzel (GMT94 Yamaha) +0.698s

5. Luca Bernardi (CM Racing) +0.788s

6. Federico Caricasulo (Biblion Iberica Yamaha Motoxracing) +0.796s

Follow all the action from WorldSSP at Navarra using the WorldSBK VideoPass!