Sofuoglu takes historic first WorldSSP300 pole in Teruel

Saturday, 5 September 2020 10:49 GMT

Bahattin Sofuoglu becomes the first Turkish rider to take pole position in WorldSSP300 as he becomes the fourth different polesitter in 2020

History was made in the Tissot Superpole for FIM Supersport 300 World Championship as Bahattin Sofuoglu (Biblion Motoxracing Yamaha WorldSSP300) claimed his and Turkey’s first pole position in WorldSSP300, finishing the session more than six tenths clear of the rest of the field as he asserted his pace in Superpole.

Sofuoglu becomes the fourth different polesitter in 2020 and, in a run that extends to the end of the 2019 season, the eighth different polesitter in eight races. Sofuoglu will line up on the front row alongside Hugo de Cancellis (Team TRAISMENO) with the Frenchman equalling his best WorldSSP300 Superpole result. Double Aragon Round winner Jeffrey Buis (MTM Kawasaki MOTOPORT) will start on the front row as he looks to extend his Championship lead.

Mika Perez (Prodina Ircos Team WorldSSP300) will line up from fourth on the grid ahead of Yuta Okaya (MTM Kawasaki MOTOPORT) and Tom Booth-Amos (RT Motorsports by SKM – Kawasaki) in fifth and six; Booth-Amos involved in a crash with Alfonso Coppola (Kawasaki GP Project) during the Superpole session with Coppola starting from 17th place.

Bruno Ieraci (Kawasaki GP Project) will start seventh ahead of fellow Italian rider Thomas Brianti (Prodina Ircos Team WorldSSP300) in eighth place. Filip Salac (ACCR Czech Talent Team – Willi Race) starred on his WorldSSP300 debut as he qualified in ninth place in the Tissot Superpole session, ahead of 2018 Champion Ana Carrasco (Kawasaki Provec WorldSSP300) completing the top ten.

Scott Deroue (MTM Kawasaki MOTOPORT) will start in 14th place after a difficult session while Ton Kawakami (Yamaha MS Racing) and Meikon Kawakami (Team Brasil AD 78), who have shown strong pace in 2020, will start 16th and 18th respectively. Kim Aloisi (ProGP Racing) had a crash at Turn 1 during the session but was able to qualify in 28th place while Koen Meuffels (MTM Kawasaki MOTOPOT) and Glenn van Straalen (EAB Ten Kate Racing) also came together in the closing stages of the session; Meuffels qualifying in 11th place and van Straalen in 25th.

The top six following Tissot Superpole, full results here:

1.) Bahattin Sofuoglu (Biblion Motoxracing Yamaha WSSP300) 2’05.739s

2.) Hugo de Cancellis (Team TRASIMENO) +0.659s

3.) Jeffrey Buis (MTM Kawasaki MOTOPORT) +0.666s

4.) Mika Perez (Prodina Ircos Team WorldSSP300) +0.690s

5.) Yuta Okaya (MTM Kawasaki MOTOPORT) +0.706s

6.) Tom Booth-Amos (RT Motorsports by SKM – Kawasaki) +.713s

You can follow more thrilling action throughout the Pirelli Teruel Round with the WorldSBK VideoPass!