Perfect 10: The ten different winners in WorldSSP300 in 2020

Thursday, 22 October 2020 13:07 GMT

The competitive WorldSSP300 class featured ten winners in 14 races throughout the 2020 season with only two riders taking multiple victories

Unpredictability was the name of the game in the 2020 FIM Supersport 300 World Championship as a remarkable ten different winners stood on the top step of the rostrum in just 14 races with just two repeat winners across the entire season. The category showed how competitive it was with the Championship being decided in the penultimate race of the season as Jeffrey Buis (MTM Kawasaki MOTOPORT) became World Champion.

Dutchman Buis was the only rider to take more than two wins across the season as he claimed four victories on his way to the title, showing remarkable consistency as he took eight podiums as well. The 18-year-old took twice as many wins as his next nearest rival on the wins list, Bahattin Sofuoglu (Biblion Motoxracing Yamaha WorldSSP300) with two; the nephew of WorldSSP legend Kenan Sofuoglu aiming to follow in his uncle’s footsteps and become World Champion in the near future.

Behind Buis and Sofuoglu is a cluster of eight riders who claimed eight victories between them across the season. Championship runner-up Scott Deroue (MTM Kawasaki MOTOPORT) claimed one victory as he challenged his teammate for the title throughout 2020 but unable to overhaul Buis; Deroue finishing in the top three in the Championship for the fourth consecutive year. Tom Booth-Amos (RT Motorsports by SKM – Kawasaki) could consider himself unlucky not to have more than one win in 2020; notably, he crashed out from the lead in Race 1 at Magny-Cours in difficult conditions, although the rookie was able to take five podiums in total.

2018 WorldSSP300 Champion Ana Carrasco (Kawasaki Provec WorldSSP300) secured victory to keep up her run of winning in every WorldSSP300 season to date, with the Spanish rider winning at Portimao. Carrasco missed part of the season due to an injury sustained in a testing crash at Estoril with her last race at the second MotorLand Aragon round. 2020 was a record-breaking year as Unai Orradre (Yamaha MS Racing) became the youngest ever race winner in WorldSSP300 at 16 years old. His win at Jerez meant he went straight to top of the youngest winners list, but he was unable to add to his solitary win.

Mika Perez (Prodina Ircos Team WorldSSP300) claimed his first victory in three years when he won at Estoril in the penultimate race of the season, ending a win drought that started at Misano in June 2017. He also stood on the podium on three occasions as he secured a top five Championship finish for the third time in four years. 2017 Champion Marc Garcia (2R Racing) re-entered the Championship halfway through 2020 and was immediately on the pace, culminating in victory in Race 2 at Magny-Cours.

The final two winners on the list both came from the MTM Kawasaki MOTOPORT team as both Yuta Okaya and Koen Meuffels claimed one victory apiece during 2020. Okaya’s win came in Race 2 at Barcelona as he became the first rider from Japan to win in WorldSSP300, while Meuffels ended his win drought, which was stretching back to April 2018, with victory in the season finale at Estoril.

You can relive the thrilling 2020 WorldSSP300 season and build-up to the 2021 season with the WorldSBK VideoPass!